Heritage Preservation Award

The DGS Heritage Preservation Award is presented annually to an individual, group, or organization in recognition of contributions to preserve, conserve, house, or collect family history. Past recipients in this category cover many varying types of genealogical and historical preservation endeavors.


Year Recipient
2014 Dallas Mexican American Historical League
2013 UT Southwestern Medical Center Library
2012 Mike Hazel
2011 Carol Roark, Dallas Public Library
2010 Digital Projects Unit at UNT as the developer of The Portal to Texas History
2009 AAGIG, McGowan Funeral Home Project
2008 No Award presented
2007 General Levi Casey Chapter, Nat’l Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution
2006 Marge Stockton, Ann Williams
2005 Silent Souls Project, Butler Nelson Cemetery, Jerry Chambers
2004 Barbara Ware, Carole C. Ruska, Suzan Younger
2003 Francis James
2002 City of  Dallas, McDermott Foundation, Friends of the DPL
2001 Shirley Remnant Sloat, Dallas County Records project
2000 Preservation Dallas
1999 Friends of Fair Park
1998 The Genealogical Society of Utah, The Dallas Public Library
1997 The Dallas Public Library
1996 Dallas County Heritage Society, Old City Park
1995 Lois Dillard
1994 Black Dallas Remembered, Jerry Henderson

Dallas Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 12446, Dallas, Texas 75225-0446
1-866-YOU2DGS (866-968-2347)