Annual Awards

The DGS annually recognizes individuals and organizations for their contributions towards the goals of the organization. 


Award of Merit:

The DGS Award of Merit is presented annually to a DGS member who has consistently contributed time, talent, expertise, and abilities to the Society over a period of years. This member's dedication and hard work in the name of the society usually goes way above the norm. Their contributions stand out. 


Heritage Preservation Award:
The DGS Heritage Preservation Award is presented annually to an individual, group, or organization in recognition of contributions to preserve, conserve, house, or collect family history. Past recipients in this category cover many varying types of genealogical and historical preservation endeavors. 


Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck Distinguished Service Award:
The Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck Distinguished Service Award is presented to an individual for outstanding contributions to the genealogical community on a national level. The first person to receive this award in 1994 was Lloyd and it was decided then that the award would bear his name. 


Volunteer of the Year:
The DGS Volunteer of the Year award is presented annually to a member who has generously volunteered time, expertise, talents, and abilities to the Society during the previous year to the extent to make that member stand out and draw attention.

Past recipients of these awards can be viewed by selecting the category from the menu on the left. Awards are presented at the December banquet based on the recommendation of a nominations committee formed in the fall. If you would like to nominate somebody (or be a member of the nomination committee) please contact a member of the board of directors.

Dallas Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 12446, Dallas, Texas 75225-0446
1-866-YOU2DGS (866-968-2347)